E

Student accommodation · H1 2026

Student accommodation development in Ealing: H1 2026 report

What the H1 2026 planning pipeline, sold prices and lending activity mean for anyone developing or funding purpose-built student accommodation in Ealing.

Period: 1 January to 30 June 2026 · Published 25 September 2026

2

New PBSA capacity applications

H1 2026

Not stated

Beds stated in proposals

Excludes replacements and mixed schemes

£442,500

Median flat sale

Student districts, H1 2026

33

Development and bridging charges

H1 2026 vs 21 in H1 2025

The Ealing PBSA pipeline a new scheme competes with

Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Ealing received 2 planning applications for new or additional student accommodation, after we removed condition discharges, amendments and consultations so that each scheme counts once.[2]

Over the twelve months to the end of the period, the same registers show 4 new-capacity applications stating 268 beds. That is the forward pipeline a new Ealing scheme would be competing with for students and for funding.

New student-capacity applications, H1 2026
ReferenceReceivedStatusTypeStated beds
260282FUL2026-01-27PendingPurpose-built student accommodationNot stated
260193CONS2026-01-16PendingPurpose-built student accommodationNot stated
Ealing planning registers, status at extraction.[2]

Planning outcomes and what funders look for

Of the 2 applications received in H1 2026, 0 were approved, 0 refused and 2 still undetermined at extraction.

Development lenders price planning risk directly. Most will fund construction only once a sui generis PBSA consent is in place and pre-commencement conditions are discharged. Land bought ahead of consent is usually financed separately, with lower leverage and a shorter term.

Exit values in the student districts

HM Land Registry recorded 136 flat sales and 86 terraced sales in Ealing's student postcode districts in H1 2026.[1] For smaller schemes such as cluster-flat conversions and studio blocks sold unit by unit, those prices are the nearest local evidence of exit value.

The median flat sale was 9.4% below the H1 2025 median.

Larger PBSA schemes exit differently: through a forward sale or forward funding to an investor, or by refinancing onto an investment loan once the building is let. Those exits depend on rent, occupancy and the operator, which the full market report covers.

Median sold prices in Ealing's student postcode districts
TypeH1 2026H1 2025Last 12 months
Flats£442,500£488,250£450,000
Terraced houses£833,500£855,500£858,000
HM Land Registry Price Paid Data for W5 and W13, standard residential sales to 2026-07-30.[1] Transaction-sample medians, not valuations. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions.

Development lending activity in Ealing

Companies House recorded 127 charges over property in these districts in H1 2026, +12.4% on H1 2025.[3] Development and bridging lenders held 33, against 21 a year earlier.

Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 85.2% sat with specialist banks and non-bank lenders rather than high-street banks.

Charges registered over property in Ealing's student districts, by lender type
Lender typeH1 2026H1 2025
Specialist banks4245
Not in our lender register3938
Bridging lenders3219
High-street banks139
Development lenders12
Companies House charges, matched to lender type using the Construction Capital lender register.[3] Charges are security instruments, not loans; one facility can create several. Individual lenders are not named.

What a PBSA development finance deal in Ealing involves

Talk to us about a Ealing scheme, or read the full Ealing student accommodation market report for demand, rents and occupancy.

  • Planning. A sui generis student accommodation consent, with conditions and any Section 106 obligations understood before drawdown.
  • Delivery date. Programmes are built back from a September opening. Missing the academic year can cost a full year of income, so lenders test the build programme and contingency closely.
  • Demand evidence. Enrolment trends, the local ratio of students to beds and any university nominations agreement.
  • Operator. Who will run the building, and their track record, often decides the loan terms as much as the property itself.
  • Exit. A forward sale, forward funding or refinance onto an investment loan once stabilised, each with evidence behind it.

Sources

  1. [1] Price Paid Data · HM Land Registry (OGL v3.0) · to 2026-07-30
  2. [2] Planning application registers · Ealing · H1 2026
  3. [3] Register of charges · Companies House · snapshot 2026-08-01
  4. [4] Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 · HESA (approximate) · 2023/24

Market commentary based on public data, published by Lenzie Consulting Ltd. It is not a valuation, investment advice or an offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Individual lenders are not identified.

Discuss a Ealing student accommodation scheme